Latest Gaming Pickups Part 1: This Kmart Employee is an Xbox 360 Fanboy(?)

I didn’t pick up that many videogames and gaming related items in the past couple of weeks, but I do have three unique and hopefully interesting videogame pickup stories to tell, so I’m splitting this into three short blog posts.

The first story takes place in late December 2011. Kmart had a sale on Ico/Shadow of the Colossus Collection for PS3. The normal retail price of this game is $39.99 but Kmart had it on sale for $19.99

So I went to my local Kmart and headed to the electronic department. Once there, I looked around and saw that they did have the game in stock and it was behind a glass case. I walked up to the male employee next to the cash register and said to him, “Excuse me, sir, I would like to buy the Ico/Shadow of the Colossus Collection for PS3. Could you get it for me?”

The guy had absolutely no idea what I was talking about! Okay, I think I might have mispronounced “Ico” but even if I said it correctly I still don’t think he would have had any idea what I was talking about.

So we walk over to the glass case and I point out the game to him. He unlocks the case, pulls out the game, and we walk back over to the cash register. He starts ringing me up and since I was buying a PS3 game, he thought that I didn’t have an Xbox 360 system, so all of a sudden he starts talking about how awesome the Xbox 360 is and how I should get one.

I tell him that I already have an Xbox 360 system. He says, “Awesome, you have the best of both worlds then.” Then he asks which system I like better. Due to various factors, including the fact that I have had my PS3 longer than my Xbox 360, I have way more games for my PS3, and also I can use my PS3 to watch blu ray movies, I tell him that I like the PS3 better.

Oh boy, this totally set him off, and now he starts telling him how the Xbox 360 is better than the PS3 and how Xbox Live is better than PSN. At this point, I am pretty annoyed.

This was supposed to be a simple trip to the store to buy a game. I go in, I go out. What should have happened is: he rings me up, I pay for the game, I get the game, and then I leave the store. It should be as simple as that. I’m not here to listen to a speech about how Xbox 360 is better than PS3.

I love both the PS3 and the Xbox 360, and I think both systems have awesome games. While I do like my PS3 more than my Xbox 360, for the reasons I have already mentioned above, I don’t think one system is better than the other.

So yeah, I was a bit annoyed when all this was going down, but later on I look back on it, and I think that it was a pretty hilarious situation and I can have a nice laugh about it. And I did get to buy Ico/Shadow of the Colossus Collection for $19.99

For those who don’t know, this collection contains HD versions of two critically acclaimed games that were released individually for the PS2 many years ago. These two games are, of course, Ico and Shadow of the Colossus. Sadly I missed out on both games on the PS2, but I now get the chance to play both games and in HD as well! I’m supperhyped!

This entry was posted in Kmart, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

