DVD/Blu-Ray Pickups #1: Spartacus and Birds of Prey

While I’m calling these blog posts “DVD/Blu-Ray” pickups, most of these pickups will be DVDs. I currently don’t have a standalone blu-ray player, although I have probably gone through 5 or 6 different DVD players (haha!) in my lifetime. My current DVD player has an HDMI port and I watch my blu-rays on my PS3.

Blu-Ray prices have been dropping steadily, and I feel that within 2 years, the prices of movies and tv shows on blu-ray will have dropped to a point where I will start buying more blu rays (instead of DVDs) and build up a collection of blu rays (unless buying movies/tv shows digitally becomes the wave of the future).

But for now I will mainly buy stuff on DVD, as I’m quite satisfied with the picture quality of DVDs.

So about 2 weeks ago, I was at a Walmart and browsing the electronics section. I decided to pick up two DVD sets – Spartacus Blood & Sand and Spartacus Gods of the Arena. One of the sets cost $20 and the other cost $25. I believe Blood & Sand was the more expensive DVD set, since it has more episodes and a longer overall runtime.

I haven’t heard too much about the Spartacus tv series, but watching Immortals film during Thanksgiving has kind of put me in the mood for some “sword & sandals” action, so hopefully I’ll get a good dose of that with this show. I noticed that John Hannah (The Mummy films) is in Spartacus, and from what I recall, every movie that I’ve seen with him in it has been entertaining. Spartacus also features Lucy Lawless of the Xena: Warrior Princess fame.

A few weeks prior to this, I was at a Best Buy and picked Birds of Prey: The Complete Series. The price sticker on the cover says $34.99, but I didn’t pay that amount for it. It was on sale. I don’t remember exactly how much I paid for it, but I think it was around $15.

For those who don’t know, Birds of Prey is a live action superhero show based on the DC comic of the same name. The comic mainly featured female heroines and so does the tv show. Three main heroines (all female) on the tv series are Huntress (Ashley Scott), Oracle (Dina Meyer), and Dinah (Rachel Skarsten).

I did watch Birds of Prey during its original television run on the WB. I watched the first four or five episodes. While the special effects were cheesy, the show did have some cool plots/stories. Despite debuting with good ratings, the show quickly lost viewers in subsequent weeks, leading to its cancellation. Thirteen episodes were produced for this show. All thirteen episodes are included on this DVD, plus there’s an unaired pilot featuring a different actress (who was later replaced) as one of the villains.

This entry was posted in DVDs, Movies, TV Shows and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DVD/Blu-Ray Pickups #1: Spartacus and Birds of Prey

  1. I think Spartacus is the seond best show on TV…the first being SOA. The violence, nudity, back-stabbing, and overall feel of the show are great. It sucks that the show lost Andy, it won’t be the same when the new season starts in January. Thanks for the post, I will now check out the Birds of Prey.

  2. borg says:

    wonderful site, very articulate. I like it in deed. I come acoss this writing by yahoo search engine. I will read your site weekly and recommend it to my pals. Please keep it fresh. Keep on the good work. – A techie

Leave a Reply

