Guinness World Records 2011: Gamer’s Edition Review

Months ago (maybe January or February of this year), I ordered the Guinness World Records 2011: Gamer’s Edition from Amazon. I had heard some good things about this book, so one day while browsing Amazon, I noticed that it was on sale for $8 or $9 (I don‘t remember exactly). The full retail price of this book is $14.99

I placed an order and when the book arrived, I read it and initially I was a bit disappointed in this book, since it feels like there’s lots of stuff that was left out. The book is a little over 200 pages long, but instead of using smaller print and cramming a lot of facts into it, the book mostly uses large print and has a good amount of pictures, which leads me to believe that this book is more aimed towards younger gamers than a well-informed, knowledgeable adult gamer like me. To be fair, the pictures are very nice though.

After my initial disappointment wore off, I was able to lay back and enjoy just reading the book. The book overall is a good read. I have gone back and read through this book several times.

This book not only covers videogames from the current gen systems (like PS3, Xbox 360, wii, and DS) and the PC, but it also covers mobile gaming (like iOS) and social and casual gaming (like Facebook games). The middle portion of the book is divided into several sections, with each section dedicated to a different videogame genre. For example, there are sections that cover First Person Shooters, Role Playing Games, and Action Adventure games.

Near the beginning of the book is a section about their top ten videogames released in 2010. After that is a segment taking a look back at the games and gaming events from October 2009 to September 2010. Near the back of the book is a section about the Top 50 Videogame Characters of all-time, which was voted by readers. All three sections are great reads.

At the full $14.99 price, this book is not really worth it. However I am satisfied with this book at the price I paid for it, which was $8/$9. As I stated above, I have gone back and read through this book several times. But I do feel like most older gamers may be disappointed in this book, for the simple reason that it feels incomplete and it seems like there was a lot of stuff left out.

This entry was posted in Books, Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guinness World Records 2011: Gamer’s Edition Review

  1. Here pretty fascinating post … lighting is so big a part of your talent, so it’s most interesting to see about how it was created

  2. I ask all my buddies to stop by this weblog..
    ..
    and I hope they will certainly like..

  3. Good post. Incredibly refreshing provided all the duplicate articles available. Thanks for performing something original.

  4. slim coffee says:

    Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a wonderful site.

  5. Aw, this was a really nice article.

  6. You made certain nice points there. I did a search on the theme and found most persons will agree with your blog.

Leave a Reply

