The Hunt for Hyperdimension Neptunia (Gamestop guy said what?)

As I mentioned in my previous post, on Thursday, March 17, I went out looking for a particular PS3 RPG game published by NIS America. That particular game is Hyperdimension Neptunia. Despite some bad reviews (and bad word of mouth from RPG gamers on the internet), I had been wanting this game for awhile, and I was informed that, although the game had just been out for only a month, it was getting rarer and harder to find. The game is sold out (and still is sold out) on amazon, although several amazon marketplace sellers selling it for $90-$120!

Yeah, I figure it was a good time to get my butt out the door and finally go look for and buy this game.

So that Thursday I began my hunt for Hyperdimension Neptunia. As I mentioned in my previous post, I hit Best Buy, Kmart, and Meijer. Yes, I knew it was a long shot that these stores would have the game, but sometimes the thrill of the hunt is just as good and rewarding as obtaining the prize in the end.

Hunting for this game reminded me how I use to go on pretty epic hunts for PS1 games in the late 90s, with my two most memorable hunts being the epic hunts for Suikoden and Revelations Persona back in 1998. I may blog about my memories of these hunts in the future.

Back to the present, over the next couple of days I hit a few stores. At another Best Buy, I asked the employee guy in the videogame section if they had Hyperdimension Neptunia. He never heard of the game before, but then told me to check the clearance bin as “it might be in there”. As expected, it was definitely not in the clearance bin, but if it was in there, I probably would have fainted from the shock of seeing it in there.

At yet another Best Buy, the employee lady offered to help me find the game. She searched the game shelves with me and then went to check the computer. She came back and told me that my best bet would be to go home and order the game from Best Buy online.

Now, I am aware that you can check the Best Buy website to see if your local store has a particular videogame, DVD, music, etc…, but sometimes their info isn’t always 100% accurate, as I have gone into a Best Buy store and found a particular game when their website stated that the game was unavailable at that store and vice versa.

At a Kmart, I didn’t see the game, but saw a copy of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year (PS3) for $29.99 and thought about picking it up. I do have the Greatest Hits version of Batman: Arkham Asylum, so if I had picked up the GOTY edition, then I would probably give the GH version away to a cousin or friend as a present.

Since I was having no luck thus far with finding Hyperdimension Neptunia, a friend suggested that I try going to Gamestop. Now I absolutely despise Gamestop with a passion (and my friend knows this). I just have had so many bad experiences shopping at Gamestop, that I stopped going inside a Gamestop store 6 years ago.

Here was my predicament: I really wanted the game, but did not want to step inside a Gamestop… I had a decision to make.

So a couple of days ago, I checked the Gamestop website and see that closest store with the game in stock is about an hour and a half away. I decide to hold off for awhile…

Yesterday, I checked the Gamestop website again and now I see that a store about 15 minutes away has the game in stock. So I said to myself, why not? I got in car, drove to that Gamestop, and hoped for the best.

Surprisingly, I had a pleasant experience at this Gamestop. There were two guys working there – an older guy (late 30s?) and a younger guy (early 20s?). When I asked for Hyperdimension Neptunia, the younger guy goes to get it for me, while the older guy starts telling me what a “sh**y game” it is and how every gamer he talked to that played the game hated the game.

Wow, it was as if he was actually trying to convince me not to buy the game! I’ve had many experiences where the Gamestop employees would try to push me to buy stuff I didn’t want, but I never had one actually try to convince not to buy a game, because he didn’t want me to buy a crappy game. Maybe things have changed at Gamestop, for the better, in the six years since I last shopped there.

So as he was saying this stuff, I was shocked into silence. Like I said, I had heard multiple people say that the game was crappy, so I just did not know what to say back to this guy. What was I supposed to say, that I knew that the game is crappy but I’m going to buy it anyways?

When I did finally reply, I said, “I heard the game is really rare and hard to find.” To which, the older guy said, “Really? We have several copies of it. In fact, one dude who is a collector came in the other day to buy two copies, one to open & play and one to keep sealed. He hated the game so much he came back in the next day, returned one of the copies, and said he’s never touching the game again.”

Wow! Ouch!

So the younger guy rings me up, then asks me if I wanted join their PowerUp Rewards program. I politely declined. He wasn’t an a-hole about it, but he did have a sad look on his face when he heard me decline. Now this dude was a nice guy and I felt really sorry for him. I know he’s only doing his job and I hope he doesn’t get chewed out by his boss for this, but the thing is – I don’t really have any plans to step inside another Gamestop anytime soon, so I don’t care about their rewards program.

Anyway, despite all the negative word of mouth, I’m very happy and satisfied with my purchase (for now… haha) I bought the premium edition, which comes in neat packaging and comes with an art book. One of my friends does have this game and I asked her if she liked it, and she says she does like it.  To be fair though, I asked her this when she had just started playing the game. However, she did end up getting the platinum trophy for this game, so I figure she’s got to like it enough to play through the game all the way to the end and beat the game (assuming the platinum trophy requires completing the game).

I do want to mention that one thing that I don’t like about Gamestop and that is that they sell opened games as “new” games. As far as I’m concerned, if you take the factory shrinkwrap off a game, even if you don’t touch the game contents, the game can not be sold as “new”.

Now I have heard that Gamestop has their own shrinkwrap machine in which they use to re-seal some opened games and sell them as “factory sealed” new games, so I’m hoping – I’m really hoping that when I open Hyperdimension Neptunia, I don’t find out that it was opened and was re-sealed again.

Other than that, I am quite happy with my shopping experience at Gamestop. And despite all I said above, I may have to step inside there again. Because there’s another PS3 RPG game from NIS America that I’m looking to get, and I have a feeling it will be hard to find as well. It’s called Ar tonelico Qoga: Knell of Ar Ciel.

My shopping adventures continue. Maybe I should have joined Gamestop’s rewards program after all…

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hunt for Hyperdimension Neptunia (Gamestop guy said what?)

  1. Excellent post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

