My First Platinum Trophy: The Godfather II

I am starting a series of blog posts where I will be talking about obtaining my platinum trophies for my PS3 games. Each blog post will be dedicated to one game. Getting a platinum trophy, whether it’s an “easy” one or not, is quite a journey and hopefully you find these stories I tell to be entertaining and perhaps helpful for your own journey to obtain some of these trophies. As of today, I have 23 platinum trophies, and I am currently working on several more.

First up: The Godfather II

The Godfather II was one of the first PS3 games I bought for my PS3. I bought this game in April of 2010. The week before, the game was advertised for $16.99 ($3.00 off the regular price) at Best Buy, and I would have bought it then if my local Best Buy had a copy. But the next week, I was at a Kmart, saw the game for $19.99 and decided to pick it up.

I had not played the first The Godfather video game (on any system) and I had not heard/read that much about The Godfather II, although I knew it was a GTA-style, sandbox-type game. While I have not played every sandbox-type game, I can not recall playing one that I did not enjoy. I even had lots of fun with the notoriously buggy True Crime: New York City. So I figured, for $19.99, if The Godfather II provided (at least) 10-20 hours of decent, if not fun, gameplay, then it would be a satisfactory purchase.

Originally my plan was to play the game and beat it, while grabbing as many trophies as I could along the way. This was my mindset when I first started playing PS3 games with trophy support.

As you probably guessed it, nowadays, I will approach every PS3 game (with trophies) with a mindset of whether or not I will attempt to get the platinum trophy. But despite currently having 23 platinum trophies, there was a time when I thought it wasn’t possible for me to obtain a platinum trophy at all.

In fact, while The Godfather II ended up being the game that I got my first platinum trophy, my first attempt to get a platinum trophy was not with this game. It’s funny how things work out in life. The first game that I tried to get the platinum actually ended up being the game that I got my second platinum. I will talk about this game in an upcoming blog post.

Going back to The Godfather II, like I said, my initial mindset was that I would just beat the game while obtaining as many trophies as I could. I was somewhere between halfway and two thirds through the game when I did some research on a few of the trophies that I did not have yet. It was during this time that I heard several people say that getting the platinum trophy for the Godfather II was very easy, and that it was one of the easiest platinum trophies to get. So I did some more research and found out that, yes, indeed, the rest of the trophies were very doable. It was at this moment that I decided to try for the platinum trophy! If I was successful, this would be my first one.

Right off the bat, while there is online multiplayer gameplay, there are no online trophies. Most of the trophies are very easy, as you will get a good majority of your trophies automatically through story progression or just by the playing the game without even trying for the trophies.

For the few trophies where you do have go out of your way, most of these are easy as well. One thing to keep in mind is that there are trophies related to killing mobsters, and while you do get to free roam after beating the game, these mobsters will be not appear after completing the game, so you need to get these kills before finishing the story mode.

The two “hardest” trophies for me to obtain (and there weren’t that really that hard) were “Welcome To The Gun Show” and “Executions in Style”. For the “Welcome To The Gun Gun Show” trophy, you had to collect all the level 2 and level 3 firearm upgrades. Now most of these are in plain sight and are very easy to find. There were maybe 3 of them that I just couldn’t find, so I had to consult a guide on the internet.

The “Executions in Style” trophy requires you to kill the mobsters using every execution style. Some of these executions require the use of the sixaxis motion controls, and if any of you have used the PS3 sixaxis motion controls before, you’ll know the motion controls aren’t as tight as they should be. Therefore, it took me a few tries to pull off some of these executions. As I mentioned, you will need to do these executions before beating the game, otherwise you will have to start a new game over again in order to get this trophy.

I started playing The Godfather II in the middle of June 2010, and about two weeks later, I was nearing the end of the game. It was now late night Friday, July 2, 2010. I estimated that I was about an hour or two away from beating the game. I was doing some mope up work, and had just gotten my last few remaining trophies, including the two I mentioned above. The only trophy left was the last remaining story related trophy, and then the platinum trophy would (hopefully?) unlock.

I was so close to the platinum I could feel it. I had a decision to make – do I go to bed now and attempt to beat the game the next day (after a night’s sleep) or do I keep playing perhaps into the wee early hours of Saturday, July 3 until I get that platinum…? haha, I am pretty sure everyone of you know what decision I made.

Yes folks, I decided to keep playing. To my credit, I probably wouldn’t be able to sleep that night anyway – I was too excited. And so shortly after 2:00 am on Saturday, July 3, 2010, I beat the game, and unlocked the last story related trophy.

And very shortly after that, my first platinum trophy popped up. It was such a surreal experience, I couldn’t believe it! Wow! I was so excited and so fired up! I had worked pretty hard on the game over the last 2 weeks and the fruits of my labor had finally come to fruition. I couldn’t believe I had pulled it off.

I would later go on to earn platinum trophies for other PS3 games and get excited and fired up for those ones as well. So while there are other platinum trophies that I am more proud of, I can honestly say that nothing matched the excitement and joy I felt when I got my first platinum trophy in The Godfather II.

I was heading into the fourth of July weekend 2010, and what a way to kick start that weekend! It only made that fourth of July holiday much sweeter. It was truly an unforgettable experience.

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

