Homefront PS3 Single Player Campaign Review

Note: this review only covers the single player campaign of Homefront. I have not played the online multiplayer portion and have no plans to do so. Brand new copies of this game do come with online pass.

Having heard a few gamers say some negative things about Homefront (the game did get mostly positive reviews from videogame journalists I believe), I wasn’t too sure what to expect when I sat down to play this game. Now before the game was released, I did watch a few trailers for this game, and the game looked like something I could really get into. The concept of the U.S. getting invaded by another country and having to fight on American soil held a lot of appeal to me.

So I sat down and played the game – and I immediately got into it!

First off, I like the characters – in fact I found the first two ally characters that you meet had a very nice and unexpected sexual tension between them.

Some people have said that the graphics don’t look that good, but I think that the graphics, while nothing cutting edged, look pretty darn good. Except for a few areas, the gameplay and shooting mechanics were very smooth.

I love the level design – there were some really nice situations that you get into and there were some very memorable battles in really cool areas. I found that the stuff you do in this game was more interesting than anything found in most FPS set in modern times. Overall, I like the single player campaign in Homefront more than the single player campaign in Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops (I have not played Modern Warfare 3 yet).

Homefront’s single player campaign is very short, however, even by FPS standards. It consists of only 7 levels (chapters), which is about half of what you would find in any of the current Call of Duty games, although the levels in Homefront are a bit longer than anything found in Call of Duty. Therefore the campaign can beaten in only 4-5 hours (I’ve heard some say that they beat the campaign in 3 hours the first time through it). With that said, as I stated, I found the levels and the situations you get into to be very fun to play through, and there were some intense moments that were very cool.

The game was so much fun to play that I can see myself replaying this game again – if not for one thing. And this brings me to the game’s fatal flaw…

… the game has some serious freezing issues in one of the levels – Chapter 5. In fact, when I got to Chapter 5, early in the level, the game froze up on me four times, in the same area, so I know it wasn’t just a random freeze – this is a serious bug in the game. These freezes were so frustrating that I seriously considered quitting the game.

But I continued on playing and was able to beat Chapter 5. And thankfully I was able to beat Chapter 6 and 7 – and therefore beat the game – without anymore freezes.

Now there have been patches issued for Homefront, but these freezing issues still persist, not only for me, but I’ve heard others say they had freezes as well. Unfortunately the developer of this game, Kaos Studios, has been closed down, so there will probably never be another patch to fix these freezes.

Now I know that just because these game freezes happened to me does not necessarily mean that you will encounter any freezes if you buy or rent this game. However, I did want to bring to your attention that these freezes in Homefront have happened to several people, including me.

It is because of these freezing issues that I can not recommend this game to anyone, even though Homefront now can be easily found in the bargain bin, for $20 or less. Which is a shame, because without these freezing issues I would have said that Homefront ranks as one of my Top 3 Favorite FPS of the current gen.

This entry was posted in Videogames and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homefront PS3 Single Player Campaign Review

  1. I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed. I most surely will make sure to do not disregard this website and provides it a look on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

